The Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens. WOW!

I’m not much of a gardener. Don’t take me wrong, I love flowers and pretty gardens, but having lived most of my adult life in Washington, D.C., and suffering from terrible allergies to the local vegetation, venturing into gardening would get me into allergy hell. So, it wasn’t until I moved to L.A. that I was able to enjoy being outdoors around plants and flowers without worrying about allergies. Something about the local vegetation, I guess. I was struck by that as much as I was in awe of the amazing succulents and beautiful species of plants and flowers I had never seen. They caught my interest instantly. I had to learn more about them.

When we started landscape work in our house, our designer suggested we check the Huntington Library and Botanical Gardens in San Marino, a suburb of Los Angeles, which we did recently. The place is amazing. Among other things, it has 120 acres of landscaped area, with over 14,000 varieties of plants showcased in more than a dozen gardens.

Anyone interested in learning more about flowers and plants should plan to visit the Huntington Botanical Gardens. Kids and adults will enjoy the experience equally. Photographers will have a field day with endless opportunities to make great shots. It’s a blast!

Here are some photos from the Gardens. The first slides are from the Japanese Garden and the second set is from the Desert Garden

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

 

Leave a Reply

